Red, White and Black


Junoon Declassified
15 December, 2006, 12:14 am
Filed under: general, Pakistan

Came across this excellent video about Junoon, via my good friend BD (yes, I am trying to butter him up…). Amazing video – choronicles both the history of Junoon and also looks at Islam and the impact of 9/11.

Can anyone find the rest of it? I would be forever indebted! : P

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hullo Ayesha

I came here so as not to vitiate the environment at Shirazi’s blog. Thanks to the negative vibes I created through my comments, my name might create unnecessary ill-feelings. I just wanted to express my appreciation once again for your last post there, on nationalism and patriotism. And I don’t say this because as an Indian it pleases me to hear critical comments about Pakistan. Far from that. My post in my blog in mid-September, “Come and see Pakistan” is an indicator of my feelings reg. Pakistan. Or another post on 14 August, called “Salaam Pakistan”. Any critical expressions I have – find ample scope in talking about matters in India. I am delighted and filled with hope and cheer to see people like you, from Pakistan. Young, unclouded thinking, fervent, ardent desire to see, and join in building, a better future for all. The Telegraph, a Calcutta-based newspaper has a column by Malvika Singh, called “Malafide”. Week after week she documents pours scorn on the pathetic character of the rulers and privileged classes of India. I hope we can be in dialogue, free of any presumptions (except of mutual worthiness!) or reservations, with a feeling of kindred-ness, of a common vision, purpose and values, and a predisposition towards harmony, wisdom and constructive action.

Best wishes and regards

rama

Comment by rama

Rama, thanks for the comment! Abhi to I have to sleep- have to travel tomorrow morning. Will drop you a mail once I get back to town. Regards.

Comment by ayesha

Rama, I would really appreciate if you could post the link to that article here. Or have you blogged about it?

Comment by BD

We in India love your music, Junoon. So the next time you get banned or receive death threats, feel free to live in exile in India :-)). We will never ban you or bust you for speaking against politicians or terrorists, albeit Indian.

And rockin the UN was kool, but Kofi Anan’s statement: “We in the UN are ‘blessed’ …”, was very cheesy.

Comment by IamMine

We in India love your music, Junoon. So the next time you get banned or receive death threats, feel free to live in exile in India :-)). We will never ban you or bust you for speaking against politicians or terrorists, albeit Indian.

But never dare to be blasphemous, lest we would be the first guys to ban you (even though we don’t have blasphemy laws), yes that’s India for you.

Comment by BD

BD, when was the last time a rock star was banned in India for blasphemy?? Its still restricted to movies only 😀 (citing Fire and lately DaVinci Code). So, Junoon, ur safe :D. Although, I heard these guys are devout Muslims, so I doubt blasphemy is any concern.

Comment by IAmMine

Its a funny funny world… Junoon could easily go to the UK where most of our celebrities are anyway and I’m sure there’ll be a pakistani MP willing to help them like what happened to Ms. Shetty. Unlike Shilpa, Junoon have talent as well, so they’d make loadsa money from concert tours..

Anyway nice blog ayesha…

Comment by chillpilgrim




Leave a Reply

