Red, White and Black


Zara Sochiye and GEO
27 May, 2006, 2:18 am
Filed under: Pakistan

Geo TV has started an extremely commendable effort in the form of this series – Zara Sochiye:

Zara Sochieye (THINK) is a formal drive initiated by GEO Television Network that attempts to highlight issues that promote and/or represent imbalance and injustice in our society and have divided us for years.

GEO aims to bridge the gaps that have been created within the Pakistani society and bring people together to the same platform to discuss matters with knowledge, tolerance and integrity.GEO will focus its programming and discussion on the most controversial law within the Hudood, which is the Zina Ordinance.

The segment that I happened to watch today showcased an wide varied of scholarly and religious opinion on the issue. The positive thing was that most of the view were in favor of major ammendments to the Hudood Ordinances.

But this mere effort is truly worthy of praise. Through Zara Sochiye, GEO is putting forward a very contentious issue for public debate and making exemplary use of it's status as one of the most watched TV channels in Pakistan.

Hats off to GEO!

0


17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey typo in the first line

Comment by afzaal

fixed! thanks for pointing out. 😀

Comment by ayesha

I did a research on Hudood Ordinances once (especially the Zina Ordinance) and the Islamic scholars I talked to were all against it. They all agreed that this Ordinance was just a political move instead of having much to do with Islam.

One of them even said that if the government wants to start implementing Islamic rules, then why not first improve its justice system, why start with Hudood, which only targets women.

Comment by Mehmal

Yaar, even the scholars these guys interviewed were largley against it. I only remember the ruot-e-halal sahab saying that it is fine and we have a problem with islamic laws and that’s whats speaking…

Comment by ayesha

Hi,
Geo TV’s Zara Sochieye used lies & distortions to make public against Hudood Ordinance. For complete details, please see my article, “Lies & Distortions by Geo TV about Hudood Ordinance.”

http://jsmawais.googlepages.com/Lies.htm

Regards,
Abdul Rehman.

Comment by Abdul Rehman

very good initiative keep it up

Comment by www.totalbhakti.com

Here you can find all hindu God Goddess Photo of Shiva, Laxmi Picture, Indain Rama Wallpapers, Sai Baba, Ganesha, Kartike, Krishna Picture, Goddess Parvati, Goddess Sarswati Wallpapers, Sri Ganesh Snaps, Vishnu, Brahma Snaps, Indain Sri Shirdiwale Sai Baba, Shri Hanumanji, Shri Ramji, Vishnuji, Brahmaji, Kartikeya, Buddha, Tirupati Balaji, ShrinathjiHindu Guru Photo, Saints Sadhu Wallpapers, Swami
Picture, Religious Teachers

Comment by thesurat

watched zara sochiye. what a fabulous contribution with an excellent host bilal qutab and strong script. loved ur effort

Comment by Dr. Shazmine Bokhari

no matter what program you talk in Billal Bhai tussi great ho!

Comment by Haris

No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, therefore he/she desires to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.

Comment by new spain radford

My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .
net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the
costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on various
websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

Comment by zalora penipu

I have not checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the

last several posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add
you back to my daily bloglist.

You deserve it my friend 🙂

Comment by scarpotter.com

Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic

but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin
for my comment form? I’m using the same

blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
Thanks a lot!

Comment by Clara

obviously like your web-site however you need to test the spelling
on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with

spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to tell the reality nevertheless I’ll definitely come

again again.

Comment by http://demo.resonate.co.za/elgg/profile/KhadijahOlson99

hey there and thank you on your information – I’ve

definitely picked up something new from proper here.

I did however experience some technical points the usage of

this site, as I skilled to reload the web site lots

of times prior to I could get it to load correctly.
I

have been considering in case

your web host is OK? No longer that I am complaining, however sluggish loading
instances occasions will sometimes impact your placement in google and could harm your
high quality score if ads and ***********

Comment by http://www.ikitmexico.org.mx/elgg/discussion/view/1675/spanish-apartment-rentals-costa-blanca-north-what-are-the-benefits-of-renting-properties

I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a
great blog like this one these days.

Comment by Www.Nationnews.Com

certainly like your website but you have to check the

spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues

and I find it very bothersome to tell the truth nevertheless
I’ll certainly come

back again.

Comment by http://independent.academia.edu/TrevorKilgour/Posts/868385/Traveling-can-be-one-of-the-greatest-educational-experiences-that-we-can-have-within-our-lives.-It-b




Leave a comment